top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKai Wen

So the story begins

Hi everyone, I'm Kai Wen. You can just call me Kai. I believe you have already seen my homepage where I introduce myself. But if you're interested in getting know more about me, feel free to go to the slides or email me.

My last writing course was AE 20C which I took in spring 2020. We focused on how to write a proper research paper and how to synthesizing different sources. It's been a while for me to took another writing class so I'm really looking forward to learning more in 39A.

I don't think myself is a good writer in general. Probably the biggest problem that I have is hard to follow the context. Sometimes I would be lost when reading articles and essays, let alone writing my own one. However, I do believe "practice makes perfect," and I'm confident enough to improve my skills.

I got 80 out 100 on the Diagnostic test which is an average score for me. I mainly made mistakes on the details of using punctuation such as quotation marks, comma, etc. Looking back to those questions, I do think I could do better if I was more careful. By the way, you would know that carelessness is my another weakness.

After reading through the syllabus, I knew that 39A is definitely not a easy class. In order to do good, I need to be prepared to spend more time in reading and writing each week, submitting every assignment on time, and communicate with the professor once encounter any problem. Also, take a look on my classmate's work and ideas is helpful. It's never wrong to see someone else's opinions. In addition, we are going to focus on Disney & Gender in this course. We will analyze how Disney films contribute to the social construction and values as well as discuss what will we gain from them. As for the course grade, we have two options in this quarter: one is letter grade and the other is pass/no pass. Both of them require our hard work, and as I said, be sure to follow the instructions and submit every assignment on time are necessary.








41 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pre-Production Meeting & Blog

We held our group meeting at 7:00 pm GMT+8, Tuesday. For Zoe, she is the host of our podcast who will be charging of all the process of...

3 commentaires


weikanh1
18 janv. 2021

Hi Kai, English wasn’t my primary language as well because I came to the United States from China at a young age. I definitely agree that writing and understanding texts can be difficult. It’s great to see that you know your weaknesses and are willing to adapt and overcome such challenges.

J'aime

jiayic20
jiayic20
18 janv. 2021

Hi Kai, I have the similar problem of getting lost in reading long articles and I believe it is probably because my reading skill is not solid. Hope we can get improved in the following practice.

J'aime

2698842262
16 janv. 2021

Hi Kai!

Referring to what you wrote about peer review, "It's never wrong to see someone else's opinions," have you thought about the situation that you would be negatively affected by others' opinions?

J'aime
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page