top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKai Wen

Reflect on the past two weeks

I still can’t believe how fast time went; it’s already the end of the second week!

Looking back to what I’ve done in these two weeks, I really learnt a lot on reading articles, reflecting on myself, and reviewing peer’s works. Specifically, I really like the “Me in Six Words” presentation where we all get to know each other from an interesting angle. I never felt so hard to just pick six words to describe myself and it took me an entire afternoon to figure what to put on the slides. Also, I commented ten classmates and read through some others’ slides. I found it so fun and meaningful to get to know more people from different backgrounds and cultures. I think this activity really connects to “Curiosity” and “Openness” listed on the course objectives. As college students, we should all be curious, open, and knowing to accept differences and similarity.

The second activity that I found very meaningful and impressive is watching the video, “Killing Us Softly.” Before, I had never thought about how ads affect female role in the society. Some of the ideas are mind-blowing yet facts of the world. For example, Kilbourne mentioned that “Only 8% of an ad’s message is received by the conscious mind.” I never actually thought about how ads are affecting our mind subconscious because I used to think that ads have so little effect on my life. The video opens my mind to reflecting on ads as well as gender role.




21 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pre-Production Meeting & Blog

We held our group meeting at 7:00 pm GMT+8, Tuesday. For Zoe, she is the host of our podcast who will be charging of all the process of...

٣ تعليقات


baiyuw
baiyuw
١٨ يناير ٢٠٢١

Hello Kai, I agree with your opinion of “Killing Us Softly,”advertisements have an imperceptible influence on us, and many of our ideas are influenced by them. However, we should not blindly believe in advertisements and should have our own criteria for judgment.

إعجاب

emmanuv3
١٨ يناير ٢٠٢١

Hey Kai, I agree with you, the "Me in six words" was really fun doing because it took a while to think about what six words truly describe me. Learning about about the people in this class has made it actually feel a little bit more of an in person class rather than an online class.

إعجاب

yindac
١٧ يناير ٢٠٢١

Kai Wen, I totally agree with your opinion which watching killing Us Softly 4 is a meaningful activity we've been given. Ads do heavily affect our views on certain things in a way we don't realize.

إعجاب
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page